Meet the Governors

The Governing Body of our school comprises of members of the local community, staff at local educational establishments and our own teaching staff. It is an unpaid role, ensuring that policies and desisions are properly checked. Much of the business of the school Governing Body takes place through committees. Governors are also linked to subject areas. The Governing Body meets at least once each term as do the committees.

DSC 0095a copy

The remit for the Governing Body is to:

a) Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
b) Hold the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
c) Oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

Governor Information

Type of Governor No.
Headteacher 1
Local Authority 1
Parent 2
Staff 1
Foundation 7
Names of Governors Type of Governor Term of Office Date of appointment End Date Date of resignation Appointing Body Relationship / Related
Ms Alison Knight Headteacher Duration of appointment 01/09/2016     Ex-Officio No
Mrs Kath Gresty Foundation 4 years 01/12/2016  30/11/2020   Liverpool Archdiocese No
Mr Seamus Brady Foundation 4 years 01/12/2016  30/11/2020   Liverpool Archdiocese No
Mr Michael Charman Foundation 4 years 30/03/2018  29/03/2022   Liverpool Archdiocese No
Mrs Carmel Foster Foundation 4 years 02/10/2018  1/10/2022   Liverpool Archdiocese No
Miss Maria Lee Foundation 4 years 18/06/2018  17/6/2022   Liverpool Archdiocese No
Mrs Sue Bickerstaffe Foundation 4 years 1/09/2019  31/08/2023   Liverpool Archdiocese No
Rev Fr Michael Thompson Foundation 4 years 01/04/2019  31/03/2023   Liverpool Archdiocese No
Mr Neil Furey Local Authority 4 years 08/11/2015  07/11/2019   Nominated by Council, appointed by Governing Body No
Mrs Paula Webb Parent 4 years 01/01/2016  11/07/2020   Elected by the Parents Yes
Mrs Julie Else Parent 4 years  01/09/2019  31/08/2023    Elected by the Parents Yes
Mr Patrick Maher Staff 4 years  01/09/19  31/08/2023   Elected by the Staff No
Responsibility Name
Safeguarding/Child Protection Governor Mrs Carmel Foster
Pupil Premium Governor Mrs Carmel Foster
Admissions Governor Mrs Sue Bickerstaffe
SEND Governor Mrs Sue Bickerstaffe
Health and Safety Governor Mr Seamus Brady
LASGB Governor Mr Patrick Maher
Link Governor Mr Patrick Maher
Resources Committee Curriculum Committee Pastoral/Ethos Committee Personnel Committee Appraisal & Pay Committee
Remit:  To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body regarding Finance, Property and Health and Safety Remit:  To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body regarding, the school curriculum Remit:  To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body relating to school pastoral matters and the ethos of the school. Remit:  To deal with all matters delegated by the Governing Body regarding Personnel matters in the school Remit:  To make decisions about performance related pay for teachers and the Headteacher
Membership Membership Membership Membership Membership
S Brady (Chair) A C Foster (Chair) S Bickerstaffe (Chair) A C Foster(Chair) K Gresty (Chair)
S Bickerstaffe K Gresty K Gresty K Gresty A C Foster
K Gresty M Charman S Brady S Bickerstaffe S Brady
P Webb P Maher M Charman M Charman  
A C Foster M Lee P Maher A Knight  
P Maher S Brady A C Foster    
N Furey A Knight A Knight    
A Knight        

Ad-hoc Committees:
• Staff Disciplinary
• Pupil Discipline/Exclusion
• Complaints
• Appeals

Terms of reference for all committees are available on request from school.

Name Details of Pecuniary Interest Details of personal interest
Miss Alison Knight Nil Governor at St John’s Catholic Primary School, Skelmersdale
Mrs Kath Gresty Nil Foundation Governor St Francis of Assisi Catholic Primary School, Skelmersdale
Mrs Sue Bickerstaffe Nil Nil
Mr Seamus Brady Nil Nil
Mr Michael Charman Nil Nil
Mrs Carmel Foster Nil Nil
Miss Maria Lee Nil Nil
Rev Fr Michael Thompson Nil Nil
Mr Neil Furey Nil Governor at Crow Orchard Primary School, Skelmersdale
Mrs Paula Webb Nil Nil
Name of Governor Dates of Full Governing Body Meetings Attended
19/04/2019 18/06/2019 12/11/2019
Miss Alison Knight




Mrs Kath Gresty




Mr Seamus Brady







Mr Michael Charman





Mrs Carmel Foster





Miss Maria Lee





Mrs Sue Bickerstaffe




Mrs Paula Webb




Mr Neil Furey






Rev Fr Michael Thompson





Mrs Julie Else


We use cookies to track visits to our website. We store no personal details.